expr:class='"loading" + data:blog.mobileClass'>

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

“For Every Season” Book Review

Disclosure: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. All opinions expressed are my own.

I am falling more and more in love with Amish fiction books! I love that the characters live such different lives from what I am familiar with, yet they are so easy to relate to, especially in the books written by Cindy Woodsmall.

For Every Season, Cindy WoodsmallFor Every Season is the third book in the Amish Vines and Orchards series and it continues  with the story of Rhoda Byler, who is trying to learn to work in an apple orchard with the King brothers, while establishing a new Amish community in Maine. The romance, the emotion, the drama, all combine to make this book one I couldn’t put down until I was done. (You can read the first chapter here.)

I had read the first book, A Season for Tending, and loved it. It wasn’t until I got the book For Every Season that I knew there had been a second book already published. There are some series that you might get away with skipping a book or two without being utterly lost, but I don’t think this is one of those series. I made sure to read the second book, The Winnowing Season, before even opening this book and I’m glad I did.

I appreciated how this book taught me more about Amish culture and beliefs, while allowing the characters to grow and develop in ways I hadn’t thought possible in the traditional Amish sense. I really enjoyed the development that all the characters went through in this book and can’t wait to read the fourth book which comes out in 2014 (Though I will say it drives me nuts how the endings are so abrupt and unresolved!)!

No comments:

Post a Comment